View on GitHub

Reopen Evansville Task Force

Latest News

Mobile Vaccination Clinic

Thanks to a partnership with the Reopen Evansville Task Force, METS and the Vanderburgh Health Department (VCHD), the COVID-19 Mobile Vaccination Clinic will continue operation.

The pop-up clinic will drop in at new neighborhood locations starting in July. Special community events have also been added to the calendar.

Download the schedule

About the Task Force

The impacts on our economy and neighbors were devastating as the state of Indiana and entire nation was COVID-19 pandemic. In response, Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke created the Reopen Evansville Task Force and appointed Deputy Mayor Steve Schaefer to lead a comprehensive community effort to address challenges impacting our city and developing a path forward.

Working under Governor Holcomb’s “Back on Track” plan for Indiana, the Task Force collaborated with community organizations and businesses to ensure a smooth transition.

The work of the Task Force will evolve as conditions improve and resources become available.

Business Assistance

Regional business partners:

Members: Tara Barney, SW IN Chamber of Commerce; Greg Wathen, Economic Development Coalition of SW IN, Josh Armstrong, Downtown Evansville – EID, Abby Elpers & Andrea Lendy, Growth Alliance for Greater Evansville, Ellen Redding, Henderson Chamber of Commerce; Kim Howard, SW IN Small Business Development Center, Sara McCarty, WorkOne; Susan Vaughn, IN Economic Development Corporation; Pete Paradossi, Evansville Regional Business Committee; Kelley Coures, Dept of Metropolitan Development

Workplace Safety & Testing

Local healthcare officials:

Members: Dr. Steven Becker, Stone Family Center for Health Sciences and a team of doctors from Deaconess Health Systems & Ascension St. Vincent

Quality of Life

A healthy quality of life is vitally important to our community. From reopening our playgrounds to rescheduling major events, plans were developed to ensure public safety and bring normalcy back to our lives.

Members: Steve Schaefer, City of Evansville; Mayor Lloyd Winnecke; Jeff Hatfield, Vanderburgh County Commission President; Cliff Weaver, Emergency Management Agency; Dave Rector, Building Authority; Janet Coudret, Grants Manager; All City Department Heads; Lauren Jones, County Attorney Office; Julie Probus, Controller’s Office; Brian Gerth, Vanderburgh County Auditor; Kristin Comer, Vanderburgh County Commissioner’s Office

Food Security

Providing support for efforts to ensure every resident has access to a nutritious meal.

Members: Lisa Vaughn, Feed Evansville; Alex Burton, City Council President; Andrea Hays, Welborn Foundation; Lacy Wilson, Healthy Communities Partnership; Glenn Roberts, Tri-State Food Bank; Robin Mallery, Urban Seeds; Nora Burgess, EVSC; Julie McCullough, USI; Kim McWilliams, EVSC; Rhonda Zuber, SWIRCA

Medical Advisory Group

Medical professionals from Deaconess Health Systems and Ascension St. Vincent advised the Task Force throughout the pandemic. Special thanks to Deaconess President Dr. James Porter and Ascension St. Vincent Southern Region President Dan Parod for their coordination.

Partner Organizations

City of Evansville

Economic Development Coalition of Southwest Indiana

Downtown Evansville Economic Improvement District

Department of Metropolitan Development

Growth Alliance for Greater Evansville

Evansville-Vanderburgh Convention & Visitors Bureau

Evansville-Vanderburgh Emergency Management Agency

Evansville Parks & Recreation Department

Evansville Regional Business Committee

Deaconess Health Systems

Ascension St. Vincent

VenuWorks / Ford Center & Victory Theater

Downtown Evansville - Economic Improvement District

Work One Southwest

Mesker Park Zoo & Botanical Garden

Indiana Small Business Development Center

Feed Evansville

Welborn Foundation

ASM Global / Old National Events Plaza

Vanderburgh County Health Department

Vidal Plastics, LLC

Leadership Everyone

Mental Health America of Vanderburgh County